Paper Craft

30th Birthday Card Making Steps

Hi there! Maybe it’s just me but I am seeing a lot more hand made cards being given these days and I think that is wonderful! It means so much more to receive one, where you know someone has lovingly made or hand picked that card just for you!

I had a friend who turned 30, so that meant it was time to dig into my craft cupboard and make a card YAY! When I start a card, I’ll be honest here, I usually only have a vague idea of what I’d like it to look like. For this I was thinking vintage with maybe a bird cage. If you’d like to see how I made this card, please read on and you may get some ideas and feel free to copy it if you want. 🙂

Here is what I ended up making:

IMG_2287

With most things, I just use whatever I have on hand. What I don’t have on hand, then I try and make anyway because well, I’m a tight-a**e!

If you’re wondering what tools I use, you can see here I really only have about 1/4 or less of the monstrous amount of tools and products out there for scrap booking so don’t think you can’t make cards just because you don’t have fancy stuff.

img_2259.jpg

Rummaging through my scrap booking box I found a number of papers and embellishments etc that I felt suited the feel of the card I wanted to make.

Here is what I found and later this changed and I found more lol:

IMG_2265

The main inspiration for this card is from using pages out of this 6 1/2″ Kaisercraft – Miss Empire paper pad, it’s pretty ❤

IMG_2263

 

Choose Your Card

So first you will want to select what colour and paper you are going to use for the base of your card. With my card being a vintage style I wanted a warm vanilla colour. I started with A5 size (148 x 210 mm), 216gsm card. If your paper is textured, choose if you want the textured side out or in, then fold in half.

IMG_2262

I like to have lots of layers on my cards so I chose a patterned paper for the background and cut it just a bit smaller than the halved A5. So this paper was cut at 142mm x 100mm.

From here I planned out my card more of what I thought it could look like and ended up searching through my sewing box for lace haha!IMG_2281

Build up Your Card Design

Here’s a tip: plan out your card before sticking down your background paper in case you decide to use a ribbon or in my case, lace, as this will need to be tucked in behind the paper when sticking down. Like so……..

IMG_2282

OK, so I mentioned a bird cage. I found this beautiful embellishment in the Kaisercraft pad and as it had a creamy colour the same as the other papers I chose, so I felt it needed some boarders and depth. Here’s the fun part. I stuck it to other papers with double sided tape I felt worked and then hand cut with scissors (or “fussy cut” if we want to use the scrapping terminology).

Do you think I had a number 30 cutter, sticker, or stamp? Nope lol, so again some more hand drawing and cutting required but that’s ok………. I will tell you now and you can probably see it but I did have to rub out my lines SO MANY times to get the 3 sort of right so don’t be hard on yourself if you have trouble too. If you get it right first try then I envy you. haha NAH! Just kidding you’re awesome!! 😀 *thumbs up*.

Hmm….. the numbers needed a backing too. (here I’m laying it out together to see what it could look like).

IMG_2277

I found some more pretties to lay out with the card design! This time I also dug into my hair clip making box and pinched a fabric flower hehe. At this point I feel it’s really coming together.

IMG_2280

img_2284.jpg

Stick It All Down!

Once you are happy with how things look, then start sticking. I use double sided tape, and double sided foam tape but on some areas like the fabric, you may want to use PVA glue.

Stick your front design to your card if you haven’t already and then you’re ready to write inside of it! If you have a bumpy or darker card you may wish to add in another bit of paper on the inside for writing. I have some stamps I picked up in a magazine so I used one on the inside of this card.

IMG_2290

You’re Done!

Thank you for reading. I hope this helps you in some way to make someone special a handmade card they will treasure. Next I’m hoping to show you a simpler child’s card made using less scrap booking specific products. Anything you would like to see just let me know 🙂 Have a wonderful day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

